…at himself

Following up on my last post, which is really almost a year old, I’m realizing that my feelings about the sacrifices I’m making to raise my daughter are changing.

I don’t mind it so much anymore. This is partly because she’s older and is becoming more self-sufficient. She can play alone for short periods, she naps more willingly (most days), and she’s much more interactive than she used to be. I can balance my own needs for time and space with her needs for care and companionship.

If I may say so, I think I’m doing a damn good job with her. She’s a very happy and well-adjusted child (I’m basing this on what other people tell me). She’s also very smart and learning quickly, and I’m doing everything I can to help her learn. And I’m finding ways to fit my needs in and around hers.

So, would I do it again? Absolutely not. If I were to choose to have another child I would do so knowing exactly what the extent of the sacrifices are. Making that choice knowing how difficult it was the first time around would be so very stupid.

One thought on “…at himself

Leave a Reply

