…about himself

I’ve been a stay-at-home dad for a little over a year and a half now. It’s been a challenging, enlightening experience. I enjoy some of it. I hate some of it. It’s my life and I’m doing what I can to make the best of it.

I love my daughter. She’s an amazing little person.

I’m not so fond of other people’s kids. They seem less amazing to me.

I’m also not crazy about other parents, at least not those parents with whom I have nothing in common except parenthood. It’s uncomfortable to me to have a relationship rest solely on a foundation like parenting—probably because I try to think of myself as more than just a parent. Or maybe I’m worried about losing the independent bits of myself that I still cherish in the daily slog of diapers and meals and naps and trips to the playground. To spend my time with people with whom I can only relate to as parents feels stifling to that independent part of myself.

This blog is a place for me to come and sound off about this kind of shit. It’ll be full of things I’d never say to anyone in real life. There probably won’t be many touchy-feely moments here either. That shit I can throw up onto Facebook or tell my friends when they ask about the kid.

Leave a Reply

